To Hell With This Journalistic Fast…

I love you all because I WANT to love my American neighbor, but I NEED to remind myself constantly about my American neighbor’s tendency to gravitate toward the way things used to be…and I’m not sure the way things used to be is the best way to go. We’ll all have to see together, but I’ll be damned if I don’t personally watch these next four years like an American eagle on the hunt, to pick the best potential metaphor…

Let me remind America about its tendencies: We suck about how old, white men dictate all the laws, aggrievedly weighted toward the historical needs of old, white men, and we totally suck about how Americans collectively dismiss the rights of women, black people, Mexicans, gay people…and how miserably old, white men ultimately fail at this task in their governance of the United States of America for the last couple centuries.

We should also understand, as Americans, how truly young we are as a country on the world stage…especially considering how quickly we became the global template of civilization on this planet…

…Also, please consider the fact that we have elected an ignorant old, white man to dictate the law in this country for the next four years, based on the fact that old, rich white men are emboldened and engendered to potentially create the most intelligent Americans among us…

…Please consider how this is utter bullshit, from a professor of utter bullshit…

…To be more confusing in my rhetoric: if Trump indeed uses his position as President to make enough personal money, while being able to control his Internet, Television, and Twitter identity fiscally, then it has inevitably qualified Trump to govern with such unqualified vitriol and absence of shame to display America’s new identity as absent of moral or ethical responsibility, as long as the rich get richer…and the middle class will undoubtedly become absent from the American identity…

…I fear for America’s identity…for my American Neighbor’s sake…despite the fact that my American neighbor probably voted for Trump…

…Trump represents the old American white man, re-taking control of the American Government, and I cannot help but think Archie Bunker’s taken over the White House this January.

We are most political in our conversation lately and historically at the local level, and that is where the most violent atrocities so often occur in all fifty States, no matter the time, class, or environment of the location.

Let’s not let Trump bring us to the American brink, please. He’s a dip-shit asshole, and I’m going to watch him vigilantly…as Fox News has convinced me is a very necessary evil, based on their vetting of Barack Obama over the last eight years. I figure Trump’s Twitter feed alone would prove what a moron he truly is, but Fox News has been at his side to assuage the uneducated American that Fox News is the only media outlet that presents fair and unbalanced journalism…

You see, I believe that Fox News is personally responsible for the atrocity that is the current Trump presidency…In the voice of Kathy Bates as Bobby Boucher’s Mom from The Waterboy: “Fox News is the Devil! Sean Hannity is the Devil!”

However, my basic disappointment for this year’s election results is simple: The concept of a good man is no longer Barack Obama, but Donald Trump.

This I feel is America’s greatest shame in 2016.

However, let’s remember that this has not been the first horrible President-elect to creep up on America; I imagine Richard Nixon was a horrible frog-in-the-throat for Democrats in the aftermath of November 5th,1968…but please understand, my online reader, that these next four years are truly unprecedented, and we need to be vigilant about our collective rights as Americans.

Be wary during this Trump Presidency. Vigilant.

Please and amen. Love to those who believe me, and hope for those who cannot comprehend what I write.

Scott C. Guffey, M.A.

Leave a Reply

