Handling Depression, Healing Music (7/31/14. 11:59 CST)

As I’ve written about in the past, I suffer from depression. When it gets bad, I head for my CD player. Tonight’s setlist:

Tom Petty’s “Feel a Whole Lot Better”

Tom Petty’s “Yer So Bad”

Tom Petty’s “Depending on You”

Tom Petty’s “The Apartment Song”

Tom Petty’s “Alright for Now”

Tom Petty’s “A Mind with a Heart of its Own”

Tom Petty’s “Zombie Zoo”

Billy Joel’s “That’s Not Her Style”

Billy Joel’s “We Didn’t Start the Fire”

Billy Joel’s “The Downeaster ‘Alexa’”

Billy Joel’s “I Go to Extremes”

Rod Stewart’s “Stay with Me”

Rod Stewart and Ronald Isley’s “This Old Heart of Mine”

Bruno Mars’ “Young Girls”

Bruno Mars’ “Locked Out of Heaven”

Bruno Mars’ “Natalie”

ABBA’s “Take a Chance on Me”

ABBA’s “Lay All Your Love on Me”

ABBA’s “The Winner Takes It All”

ABBA’s “Money, Money, Money”

ABBA’s “Voulez Vous”

ABBA’s “Waterloo”

Genesis’ “No Son of Mine”

Genesis’ “Jesus He Knows Me”

Genesis’ “Driving the Last Spike”

Genesis’ “I Can’t Dance”

Beastie Boys’ “Rhymin & Stealin”

Beastie Boys’ “Girls”

Beastie Boys’ “Fight for your Right”

Beastie Boys’ “Brass Monkey”

Beastie Boys’ “Time to Get Ill”

ZZ Top’s “Sharp Dressed Man”

ZZ Top’s “Viva Las Vegas”

Joe Satriani’s “Satch Boogie”

Eric Clapton’s “Before You Accuse Me”

Eric Clapton’s “Hey Hey”

Eric Clapton’s “Tears in Heaven”

Phish’s “Free”

Phish’s “Character Zero”

Phish’s “Waste”

Phish’s “Taste”

Phish’s “Cars Trucks Buses”

Phish’s “Talk”

Phish’s “Theme from the Bottom”

Phish’s “Train Song”

Phish’s “Bliss”

Phish’s “Billy Breathes”

Phish’s “Swept Away”

Phish’s “Steep”

Phish’s “Prince Caspian”

Somewhere in Phish, a former student contacted me about an ailment, asking me what he should do. Specifically, I should help him call a doctor. I let the entirety of the album play, as I did my best to accommodate. Mayhem ensued for a bit, but ultimately, placidity found a spotlight, and the music continued.

Grateful Dead’s “Bertha”

Grateful Dead’s “Mama Tried”

Grateful Dead’s “Big Railroad Blues”

Grateful Dead’s “The Golden Road (To Unlimited Devotion)”

Grateful Dead’s “Sitting On Top of the World”

Grateful Dead’s “Beat It On Down the Line”

Grateful Dead’s “Friend of the Devil”

Grateful Dead’s “Mexicali Blues”

Grateful Dead’s “Turn On Your Love Light”

Grateful Dead’s “One More Saturday Night”

Grateful Dead’s “U.S. Blues”

Grateful Dead’s “Sugaree”

Grateful Dead’s “Ripple”

Grateful Dead’s “Sugar Magnolia”

Grateful Dead’s “Me & Bobby McGee”

Grateful Dead’s “Johnny B. Goode”

Grateful Dead’s “Not Fade Away/Goin’ Down the Road Feeling Bad”

Queen’s “Under Pressure”

Metallica’s cover of Queen’s “Stone Cold Crazy”

Metallica’s cover of Thin Lizzy’s “Whisky in the Jar”

Queen’s “I’m Going Slightly Mad”

Queen’s “I Want It All”

Queen’s “Seven Seas of Rhye”

Queen’s “Don’t Stop Me Now”

Queen’s “The Show Must Go On”

Queen’s “Keep Yourself Alive”

Queens’s “Headlong”

Queen’s “Who Wants to Live Forever”

Queen’s “I Want to Break Free”

I feel I was born to play on antiquated radio (loading up Queen’s “Radio GaGa,” along with Muse’s “Knights of Cydonia.”) I realize I have no musical taste for the present, but I feel psychologically cleansed, despite all of the mental flak coming my way….perhaps, someone in the present or future will find my playlist and find peace by searching for obscure music from a small portion of human history…to become happy. If you axe me to duplicate, it’ll be a different manufactured set-list on any given night, thankfully for the pursuit of happiness…

{If you appreciated this writing and want to help support the continuation of this blog, please consider sending a donation to:

Scott C. Guffey
P.O. Box 53
Michigan City, IN 46360

For a full explanation of author impetus, blog mission statement, and donations appeal, click About.}

Leave a Reply

